Performance at YDH Love Letter 10.31.2008

Who would have thought that Wheesung underwent vocal surgery?  I finally saw the Yoon Do Hyun performance last October 31.  I am totally swept away with his voice.  I was thinking if he had this surgery prior to launching Eternal Essence of Music, he would be able to sing with ease and much force — 다쳐도 좋아 (Dachyeodo Choha).

Comparing how he sang during 5th album performances…he is 200% better now.  And to compare the MNET performance with this, minus Hyori in video, YDH performance is more interactive and performance-packed.  Doing 안 되나요 (Andwenayo) as an intro never fails to impress the crowd.  No one is getting tired of this song because its already a classic, not to mention the musical arrangement differs on every performance.  Hearing the performance, I fell in-love again but this time 100 times to his voice and music.  Can he always get this better?  Just listen how effortless his singing… hitting those high notes as if he’s just boiling some water on a pot.  There was no faking…the voice is solid all through out.   I love the semi-acoustic part  (from the time he started singing to 2:27) it makes you hear how great his voice is.  How can it be like this — touching my soul this way makes me regret more that I wouldn’t be able to see Wheeshow 2008.

The viewers showed connection with him as well when he sang his new song 별이 지다. It was vocally lighter than 안 되나요 but the falsettos were just to much for me to bear *i just keep on falling in love with the voice*

Third cut of what seems to be his mini concert at YDH showcased 불치병 (Bulchipyeong) and 위드 미 (With Me).  This is the last part and it was a KILLER.  My soul has been scattered watching this part, first because this is the ending of his performance in the show and second, he is truly back in all essence of the word.  I ain’t overacting but happiness is just overflowing that I feel numb for a second. See how he gets a little naugthy after singing 불치병.

I won’t say this is better than 5th album (I am currently writing a review on this mini album) but definitely Wheesung just showed how excellent (not just good) his vocal skills are right now.  He has never shown difficulties in singing unlike before, thought the reception to 사랑은 맛있다 (Love is Delicious) is crazier than 별이 지다 but voice quality and style in the new song *speechless*.  

I love how he looks now… it just suits the new songs he have.  I couldn’t help but notice how his skin is getting nicer.  I still like his fashion style in the 5th album but i think it won’t work with the mini album promotion. For some reasons, his get up seem to compliment the sexiness that this new album is offering.  The connection with the audience is great.  I would have reacted crazy the whole performance had I been sitting in that studio.

Even if the guy beside me gets mad to this last few words i have to say, though I seriously doubt if he understand even a bit of this — 휘성씨 사랑해요!

Credits to 33Hany for all the videos. 고마워요!

Leave a comment